Rory parkrun Challenge

10 weeks of parkrun in memory of Rory

There is a challenge known as #7weeksofparkrun, the idea is to run at seven consecutive parkrun venues and the first letters of each venue’s name combined spells out the word ‘parkrun’, which my running friend Steve Stockwell (aka blog7t) has completed.

Capture

I have decided to run at 10 venues with the first letters of each venue to spell ‘Rory Sowden’ and complete the challenge on my 100th parkrun.  I have decided to do this challenge to combine two things that I love, our son Rory and Parkrun.  Once completed I will able to take a screenshot of my results page together with Rory’s name, which I will be able to keep forever.

2015-06-21-07-18-19-1 (3)

Always Loved, Never Forgotten #Running4Rory

In order to complete the challenge. I will need to complete the venues in reverse order and finishing at a venue beginning with ‘R’.  My plan is to complete my 100th parkrun at ‘Royal Tunbridge Wells’ due to there being a Tunbridge Wells SANDs group (Stillbirth and Neonatal Death charity) and I’m hoping I might be able to raise awareness about Stillbirth during my challenge.

parkrun-parkrun-milestone-t-shirt-100-running-short-sleeve-shirts-black-tsmr001s_c100black-4

Club T-shirt I will be able to claim at end of challenge

20140426_081624

Dunorlan Park – home to Royal Tundbridge Wells parkrun (Photo courtesy of blog7t)

 

This is not a difficult challenge, it just requires planning in advance.  The problem I had was finding a parkrun beginning with ‘Y’, after searching the parkrun website I found there is only two in the UK, York or Yeovil Montacute.  Either way both venues requires a fair bit of travelling.

 

Below is my planned list of events I hoping to visit on the planned dates, which could be subject to change due to other commitments and any cancellations.

 

 

Week Event Planned Date
     
Week 1 Nonsuch 21/05/2016
Week 2 Eastbourne 04/06/2016
Week 3 Dulwich 11/06/2016
Week 4 Whistable 18/06/2016
Week 5 Old deer park 25/06/2016
Week 6 Sittingbourne 09/07/2016
Week 7 Yeovil Montacute 16/07/2016
Week 8 Riddlesdown 23/07/2016
Week 9 Orpington 30/07/2016
Week 10 Royal Tunbridge Wells 06/08/2016

 

 

I’ve currently completed 90 parkruns and will start my quest at Nonsuch Park in Cheam this Saturday.  If anyone of my running friends wishes to join me at any event, feel free to come along.

One thought on “Rory parkrun Challenge

  1. thelegacyofleo

    This sounds brilliant! I had looked at doing big runs that spell out Leo’s name and hadn’t thought of doing park runs as a way to find the letters! His middle name is Phoenix and that gives a few issues. Massive good luck on the challenge,xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

